Country Profile

Macedonia in Europe

  • The Republic of Macedonia is a landlocked country, located in the Balkan peninsula in Southeast Europe. It borders Serbia to the north; Albania to the west; Bulgaria to the East; Kosovo northwest; and Greece to the South.
  • Surface area: 25,713 km2 (9,779 square miles)
  • Population: 2.02 Million
  • Government: Parliamentary democracy
  • Capital: Skopje
  • Other large cities:  Bitola,  Kumanovo,  Prilep, Tetovo, Ohrid, Veles, Štip, Kočani, Gostivar, Kavadarci and Strumica
  • Climate: warm, dry summers and autumns and relatively cold winters with heavy snowfal.
  • Average rainfall:  ≈ 600 mm per year.
  • Topography: mountainous territory covered with deep basins and valleys; three large lakes, each divided by a frontier line; country bisected by the Vardar River