Investor protection and guarantees

  • Macedonian Constitution guarantees equal treatment of foreign investors.
  • Foreign investors may acquire land / buildings in Macedonia (must do so through locally registered company).
  • Complete protection of the ownership rights of foreign investors.
  • 100% foreign ownership of a company allowed.
  • No restrictions for repatriation of profits and capital.
  • Fair compensation in the event of expropriation.
  • Arbitration exists within the Chamber of Commerce since 1993 with a permanent elected court.
  • All industry and sectors are open for investment, except for weapons and narcotics where state permission is required and there are also certain licensing requirements imposed on all investors in finance, financial services and insurance.
  • The denar (MKD), while fully convertible within the domestic market, is not convertible on foreign exchange markets.
  • No restriction on foreign employment.

Macedonia is a member of:

  • The UN (as FYR of Macedonia)
  • The Council of Europe
  • WTO (World Trade Organization)
  • MIGA (Multilateral Investment Guarantee Agency)
  • ICSID (International Center for Settling Investment Disputes)

Macedonia is signatory of:

  • Investment protection treaties with 27(1) countries .
  • Double taxation treaties with 41 (2) countries .

Macedonia is first country in South East Europe to sign a Stabilization and Association Agreement with the European Union in 2001 and is an official candidate status for EU membership.

1. Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, People's Republic of Korea, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and Ukraine
2. Austria, Albania, Belgium *, Belarus, Bulgaria, Tues Britain, Germany, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Qatar, China, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Morocco, Moldova, Norway, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia,  Taiwan, Turkey, Ukraine, Hungary, Finland, France, Netherlands, Croatia, Czech, Switzerland, Sweden, Spain, Serbia, Montenegro